BullGuard Antivirus Sale - 60% Off with openElement !
Forum openElement Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home >

openElement

> openElement General Discussion
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - TAB DROP DOWN MENUS
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

TAB DROP DOWN MENUS

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
deewebdev View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 70
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deewebdev Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: TAB DROP DOWN MENUS
    Posted: 26 Avr 2019 at 03:34
Hello Again OE Community:

I would like to create TABS along the top part of the page just underneath
the header and then have it so if the user hovers over the TAB, a drop down
menu comes up where I can link to different pages.

I did some reading in the Wiki, and found information regarding a BUTTON-LINK
then assigning a POP-UP element to this BUTTON-LINK but this does not work.

Does anyone know how to go about creating a TAB (1 row across) menu
where a drop-down menu will display when the user hovers over each TAB
with their mouse?

Thank you much in advance.
Dwight
Dwight
Back to Top
Hobby001 View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 05 Juin 2018
Location: Canada QC
Status: Offline
Points: 4145
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hobby001 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Avr 2019 at 12:59
The pop-up menu will work associated with any element.  Simple line text, Link text Button, etc.

The only thing is that you have to save the page before testing it.
Back to Top
deewebdev View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 70
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deewebdev Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Avr 2019 at 02:52
Dear Hobby001:

Thanks for the heads up.  It worked just fine.
I can use this in the mean time.

I did however, create my own navbar and it works as a separate
html file dependent on a css file. I have the positioning and everything.

I would like to know, what are the steps to 'embed' the code for the
html file and css files respectively inside of the index.htm file that openElement
generates.

I will include a screen capture of the top part of the webpage and a screen capture
of the navigation bar I am talking about.

Thanks
Dwight
Dwight
Back to Top
deewebdev View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 70
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deewebdev Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Avr 2019 at 03:01
What is the best way to send screen captures in this
forum?
Dwight
Back to Top
Hobby001 View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 05 Juin 2018
Location: Canada QC
Status: Offline
Points: 4145
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hobby001 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Avr 2019 at 10:23
You need to put the image on a web server and link it here.

You can use a storage like https://www.zupimages.net/index.php?api=1


Back to Top
Hobby001 View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 05 Juin 2018
Location: Canada QC
Status: Offline
Points: 4145
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hobby001 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Avr 2019 at 10:26
Originally posted by deewebdev deewebdev wrote:


I did however, create my own navbar and it works as a separate
html file dependent on a css file. I have the positioning and everything.

I would like to know, what are the steps to 'embed' the code for the
html file and css files respectively inside of the index.htm file that openElement
generates.

Thanks
Dwight

OpenElements supports layers

Convert your navbar page into a layer and apply it to all the required pages
Back to Top
deewebdev View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 70
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deewebdev Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Mai 2019 at 07:09
Dear Hobby001:

I might have replied to your solution in the openElement forum, but
nonetheless, I am replying again to let you know that your solution
works like a charm.

I did what you said to do, and yes you have to save the page first
before actually seeing the dropdown menus execute.

In addition, I did some more reading in the wiki and finally found how to
manipulate (cosmetically) all of the elements of the dropdown menu using
the zone elements feature of OE.

It is very powerful in that you can change font, color, shade and even
transparency for any of these elements whether visual or non-visual elements.

What I also learned was that when you highlight an element or object in the
Element explorer, the Styles/Properties/Presets etc, menu on the right changes.

This leaves the user so much flexibility in changing everything from colors, size,
fonts, etc., within any element in OE.

Simply great software.

I am sure I will keep learning and thanks for all the help from you guys so far.

Sincerely,
Dwight
Dwight
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.11
Copyright ©2001-2012 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0,031 seconds.